Posted in Essays, Literary Pieces

Does It Even Bother?

It has been quite a while since I first set foot on our school. In my stay here, I have observed some things that disappoint me a lot. I never expected that an elementary student would be doing those things.

One time, while waiting for the school gates to open, I saw a schoolmate smoking. Maybe you will say, “There’s nothing wrong with smoking, it is normal!” Yes, it is normal, but the next thing I saw was the issue. While he was smoking, one of our school teachers passed by and I thought that my schoolmate will show respect and stop smoking, but it was wrong. The student continued puffing his cigarette as if an ordinary person just passed.

The school gates were opened and I sat on a bench and chatted with my friends while waiting for the bell to ring. Then the bell rang, and says that we must proceed to our classrooms. However, before leaving the bench, I felt something sticky on my back. I wondered why my friends kept laughing at me. I tried to reach my back and remove that sticky thing. Yuck! A bubble gum! I didn’t know how to react on this incident. Will I laugh at myself, or get mad at that someone who stuck the bubble gum on the wall? Trash cans are visible around, but why can’t they put their wastes in their right places? Well, I just took it as nothing. I don’t want to start my day with anger anyway.

The class had already started and the reporters posted their visual aids and now are ready to give their best on reporting. As the reporter discussed his report, not one of us in the classroom seemed to understand it. Our teacher asked the reporter to elaborate on his report for us to understand what he is discussing but he answered, “Hindi ko alam, yun nga yung nasa book eh!” This caused uproar inside the room. Everybody laughed aloud including me. I turned around at our teacher and I saw him smiling but I know that he was hurt by the indecent answer of the reporter and that made the whole class felt sorry. When we are asked by our teachers to explain what we are discussing, they are just trying to squeeze our minds to see the best we have but they don’t intend to embarrass us.

Whenever I enter our classroom, I noticed some graffiti written on walls especially on the chairs, which made our rooms look dirty and uncomfortable. Although our school janitor always cleans our ground every day, it still looks messy because some students keep on vandalizing it. I don’t understand why the students kept on writing strange words especially symbols, which not everyone can read anyway. It is surprising how those students acted like that, vandalizing school facilities. They should always keep in mind that what they do reflect on their personality.

The next day, the school was unusually quiet so I checked up what’s going on inside. As I went on, everybody was so busy reviewing his or her notes because it was the examination day, one of the most stressing and scariest days in a student’s life. Suddenly, the bell rang which signals the start of the exam. Before we started, our teacher explained the instructions in answering the exams and he made it clear that, “Anyone caught cheating will automatically zero on the exam”. While we were having our exam, I constantly kept hearing people murmuring at the back and even in front. They kept on asking, “Hoy, anong sagot dito?” It was very irritating and distracting on my part because I couldn’t concentrate on answering. I admit that some people taking exams are doing and experiencing cheating while answering their questionnaires. As the saying goes, “Kung gusto may paraan, kung ayaw, maraming dahilan”.

Did you have observed, or experienced these things? Do you really even bother about these things? I know that many have observed those things too but some did not even bother about it. If we cannot discipline ourselves, let us at least try to respect our school.

Author:

BS Computer Science Student | Writer/Blogger/Journalist | Director/Editor | Calligraphy Artist

Comments

